Fedora 16 missing H.264 decoder plugin (fixed)

If you installed Fedora 16 and added the RPM fusion repositories and you still can’t watch .mkv videos because of a missing H.264 decoder plugin.

Totem Movie Player gives you this error message

Here is how to fix it.

You are still missing a required package.  Add the following package…and you should be good to go.

sudo yum install gstreamer-ffmpeg

However, If you need full instructions for enabling the RPM fusion repositories here they are also.   The first two lines add the necessary repositories.  The last line installs the necessary plugins for variety of video formats as well as viewing DVDs.

sudo yum localinstall --nogpgcheck http://download1.rpmfusion.org/free/fedora/rpmfusion-free-release-stable.noarch.rpm

sudo yum localinstall --nogpgcheck http://download1.rpmfusion.org/nonfree/fedora/rpmfusion-nonfree-release-stable.noarch.rpm

sudo yum install gstreamer gstreamer-plugins-good gstreamer-plugins-bad gstreamer-plugins-ugly gstreamer-ffmpeg libdvdread libdvdnav lsdvd

Enjoy.

Alternatively, you can also install and use vlc or smplayer to view mkv videos–both can decode H.254 .

10 thoughts on “Fedora 16 missing H.264 decoder plugin (fixed)

  1. I hope you can help me—I’m having exactly this problem, except:
    Package gstreamer-ffmpeg-0.10.12-1.fc16.i686 already installed and latest version

    I’m using Totem to (try to) play an mp4 video.

    Radiotray also fails to play Windows Media (MMS) streams, again complaining of a missing gstreamer plugin.

    This is on Fedora 16 with rpmfusion free and nonfree enabled.

    I also have the Adobe Flash repo, which should be irrelevant. I have testing updates enabled; the only semi-relevant package there is Banshee—no gstreamer* or totem*.

    VLC seems to be capable of playing the video, but not Totem with gstreamer. I use Radiotray as my alarm clock, so it’s fairly important to me.

    (This is the only thing stopping me from sticking with Fedora. If I can’t fix gstreamer I’ll have to reinstall Ubuntu.)

    …Help? 🙂 Thanks.

  2. Thanks for the hint. It worked on my workstation on which a Fedora 17 is running. Now I can hear mp4 files that I download from youtube.

  3. Thanks! After fighting dependancy hell on the things FC17’s totem *thought* were the problem totem still gav the same error message, only now it asked permission to find and install teh following packages: [it was blank].

    Then I found this. Problem solved. Massive blessings on you.

Leave a Reply

